A Day In Paris

The dark was crisp with winter’s morning breeze and the sun was yet to make its appearance when I awoke at 3:30 am on November 25th, eager to make my way to St. Pancras to board the Eurostar.

Honestly though, my trip to Paris hardly lasted as long as that sentence.

At 4:30 I caught the night bus (regrettably not the Knight Bus) to King’s Cross, then made my way over to St. Pancras, where a cup of coffee and a ham and cheese croissant satisfied my hunger, until I got on the supposedly speedy 05:40 Eurostar.  This, mind you, was probably their oldest train – with no wifi (WHAT?!) and outlets that only worked for the last hour or so of the train ride.

What should’ve been a smooth two and a half hour journey was quickly lengthened due to signal problems and the train taking faulty (if I heard correctly) north of Paris.

Finally, at 10:15 am, an hour after the scheduled arrival time, the train pulled into Paris.

If any Londoner thought London was grey, they should’ve experience this Parisian day.

But I’ll stop writing and let the pictures do the talking for me.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
At Parc des Buttes-Chaumont in the morning
Processed with VSCO with k3 preset Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
The Eiffel Tower can be seen in the distance
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
View from the Sacré-Cœur, a Roman Catholic church
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
The Eiffel Tower on a foggy day
Processed with VSCO with 9 preset
At the Musée d’Orsay. The museum was once a railway station built at the end of the 19th century that opened in 1900 called Gare d’Orsay
Processed with VSCO with f1 preset
La Classe de Danse (The Dance Class) by Edgar Degas – painted in the early 1870s
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
One of the museums clock tower
Processed with VSCO with f1 preset
La Petite Danseuse de Quatorze Ans (Little Dancer of Fourteen Years) by Degas – A copy of the original in this museum I believe
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The Institut de France at night

Don’t forget to follow!

I’ll catch you in my next blog post.

Or should that be Katch?

Kadeem

Leave a Reply

